You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » Features
Business Standard

Lok Sabha Election phase 4 LIVE: 39% voting so far, Modi blasts 'TMC goons'

Voting for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 phase 4 to decide the fate of 961 candidates is underway. 38.63% voter turnout was recorded till 1 pm. Catch live updates on General elections 2019


Lok Sabha Elections Phase 4: India is in the midst of the seven-phase Voting for phase four of the General elections is underway in 72 constituencies across nine states. Voting will end at 6 pm. So far, the Election Commission of India has recorded 38.63% voter turnout.

Voting is underway in parts of Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Voter turnout till 1 pm

UP: 34.19%
Bihar: 31.71%
J&K: 6.66%
Madhya Pradesh: 43.38%
Maharashtra: 29.18%
Odisha: 35.79%
Jharkhand: 44.90%
West Bengal: 52.37%
Rajasthan: 44.51%
Some of the key constituencies going to polls are in Lok Sabha Elections phase 4:

The electorate will decide the political fortunes of 961 candidates in this phase.

Some of the key constituencies going to polls on Monday are:

Begusarai (Bihar), Darbhanga (Bihar), Chhindwara (Madhya Pradesh), Maval (Maharashtra), Mumbai North Central (Maharashtra), Mumbai North (Maharashtra), Kendrapara (Odisha), Jodhpur (Rajasthan), Barmer (Rajasthan), Jhalawar-Baran (Rajasthan), Unnao (Uttar Pradesh), Kanpur city (Uttar Pradesh), Bahrampur (West Bengal), Asansol (West Bengal)

Lok Sabha Election results will be announced on May 23.


Auto Refresh
04:00 PM

Voting peaceful, but just 9% cast ballot in Kulgam dist till 3pm Srinagar

With just an hour left for polls to close, less than nine percent of 3.45 lakh electorate Monday exercised their franchise in the Kulgam district of Jammu and Kashmir - part of Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency - amidst stringent security arrangements and isolated incidents of stone-pelting near polling stations, officials said.
The voting in the second leg of three-phased schedule for the Lok Sabha seat would decide the fate of 18 candidates, including former chief minister Mehbooba Mufti.
03:45 PM

49% voting recorded in Madhya Pradesh till 3 pm

An average 49.02 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 3 pm across six Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh Monday, an official said.
The polling began at 7 am. "An average 49.02 per cent turnout was recorded till 3 pm," an election official said.
The voting figures till 3 pm were as follows:
Sidhi- 34.95 per cent, Shahdol-51.91 per cent, Jabalpur-48.71 per cent, Mandla-51.34 per cent, Balaghat-54.48 per cent and Chhindwara- 54.04 per cent.
03:37 PM

HC refuses injunction on EC's surveillance order on TMC leader

The Calcutta High Court Monday refused to pass any injunction on the Election Commission's decision to keep TMC's Birbhum district president Anubrata Mandal under surveillance.
The poll body had on Sunday ordered that the Trinamool Congress (TMC) strongman, who has often invited controversies with his remarks against opposition parties, be kept under scanner from 6 pm of April 28 to 7 am of April 30.
03:33 PM

SP alleges VVPAT shows 'lotus' when 'cycle' button pressed; wants DGP removed

Opposition Samajwadi Party Monday urged the Election Commission to remove Uttar Pardesh's police chief OP Singh from the post alleging he was "favouring" the ruling BJP and affecting elections.
The party also alleged that in at at least two polling booths the Voter-Verifiable Paper Audit Trail machine showed the voting for the BJP when the ballot was cast for the SP.

First Published: Tue, April 30 2019. 16:11 IST